Engagement (duh duh duuuuhhh)

Standard
Engagement (duh duh duuuuhhh)

Hitched.  Ball and chain.  Shackled.  Beginning of the end.  Meh, screw all that.  I found the love of my life and we’re gonna celebrate!  It’s gonna be big, it’s gonna be rad, it’s gonna be epic.  You wouldn’t seriously expect anything less, would you!? 😉

So, the question on aaallll of your minds I’m sure (yes, that’s a wee hint of sarcasm), is “how did he pop the question?”.  Well my friends, I am here to tell you just that.  Much, I am sure, to my new fiance’s chagrin.

the setting

the setting

Setting: Haeundae Beach, Busan, South Korea

Present: Myself, Daisy, Harding, a few passersby, and some gulls

Jon and I were just chilling, watching Dais be a goofy pug, being happy and watching the water, when Harding turned to me and said some veeerrryyy sweet things (which for his sake, I will keep between him and I), leaned over onto one knee (awww) and asked if I would marry him.  As he finishes, while holding the ring box, he says “now this is just a placeholder…” and opens the box to reveal possibly the largest pearl I have ever seen, set in sterling silver.  And I…laughed!  I did!  I cannot tell a lie.  It was so big that it occurred to me he might be joking (only for a brief second, I swear!) and then when I realized he was dead serious, about both the proposal BUT also, mostly, the ring, I may have…laughed a little teeny bit more 😉  Poor guy.  It was the giant ring making me laugh, I swear!

Anyhoodle, so I said yes as you all know and I got the  beautiful, ginormous pearl as a place holder until we find, or have me made, the “perfect” ring.  The beautiful place holder is sadly a teensy bit too big for the appropriate finger so no one even knows we’re engaged by looking at us!  Haha!  Harding’s plans of claiming me foiled!?!  He better get on finding that “real” one soon! 😉

Anyways, since it was midday Korea, which meant all of you were sleeping, we couldn’t tell anyone!  So we spent the day indulging.  We sat at the expensive hotel cafe on the beach and had wine and cake.  Then we bought a bottle of wine and sat and drank that on the beach.  Then we went for (what passes as) a nice meal here in Busan.  It was a splendid, lazy day.  Also, Jon feels it was a lucky day because it was the 14th of October, and 14 is the double of 7, which is a lucky number, and also happens to be the monthly date of our anniversary, etc etc.  Yes, we are THAT lame.

Also, I know some of you are probably concerned about what Daisy thinks of all this (:-D).  Not to worry, as Jon talked to Daisy ahead of time to make sure we had her blessing.  Phew!

Our celebratory wine and cake

Our celebratory wine and cake

talk to me...!

